Tuesday, 28 February 2017

#BibliomaniacsBookClub March Read (PaperWeight)

March's Paperweight Bibliomania is for not just one, but FOUR authors! 

Graham Minett, Chris Whitaker, Simon Booker, Alex Caan

Lie in WaitTall OaksWithout TraceCut To The Bone











This month Bibliomaniac's Book Club is hosting Dazzling Debuts - a live event featuring four authors so the Paperweight read for March will be slightly different this time as we encourage you to read one of these titles. Tune into Bibliomaniacuk.blogspot.com throughout March for guest posts and a review of the evening which takes place on the 22nd (2017). 

Bibliomaniac Book Club questions will be available at the end of March on Bibliomaniac's blog.

Tall Oaks

TALL OAKS by CHRIS WHITAKER 

For fans of Twin Peaks and The Truth about the Harry Quebert Affair, this brilliant debut is dark yet hilarious, suspenseful and sad.

Everyone has a secret in Tall Oaks . . .


When three-year-old Harry goes missing, the whole of America turns its attention to one small town.

Everyone is eager to help. Everyone is a suspect.

Desperate mother Jess, whose grief is driving her to extreme measures.

Newcomer Jared, with an easy charm and a string of broken hearts in his wake.

Photographer Jerry, who's determined to break away from his controlling mother once and for all.

And, investigating them all, a police chief with a hidden obsession of his own . . .

In Chris Whitaker's brilliant and original debut novel, missing persons, secret identities and dangerous lies abound in a town as idiosyncratic as its inhabitants.


For my review of Tall Oaks please click :
bibliomaniac's review of Tall Oaks

For my interview with Chris Whitaker please click: 
bibliomaniac's Q&A with Chris Whitaker

Lie in Wait

LIE IN WAIT by G J MINETT

Vividly imagined and ingeniously plotted, LIE IN WAIT is GJ Minett's stunning follow-up to the bestselling and acclaimed THE HIDDEN LEGACY

Owen Hall has always been different. A big man with an unusual fixation, one who prefers to put his trust in number patterns rather than in people, it's unsurprising that he'd draw the attention of a bully.

Or a murder investigation.

And, in the storm of emotions and accusations that erupts when a violent killing affects a small community, it soon becomes clear that a particularly clever murderer might just get away with it.

All they'd need is a likely suspect . . .
 


To read my review of Lie In Wait click here:

Bibliomaniac's review of Lie in Wait 

The Hidden Legacy
THE HIDDEN LEGACY by G J Minett 

1966. A horrifying crime at a secondary school, with devastating consequences for all involved.

2008. A life-changing gift, if only the recipient can work out why . . .

Bearing the scars of a recent divorce - and the splatters of two young children - Ellen Sutherland is up to her elbows in professional and personal stress. When she's invited to travel all the way out to Cheltenham to hear the content of an old woman's will, she can barely be bothered to make the journey.

But when she arrives, the news is astounding. Eudora Nash has left Ellen a beautiful cottage, worth an amount of money that could turn her life around. There's just one problem - Ellen has never even heard of Eudora Nash. 

Her curiosity piqued, Ellen and her friend Kate travel to the West Country in search of answers. But they are not the only ones interested in the cottage, and Ellen little imagines how much she has to learn about her past . . .

Graham Minett's debut novel, The Hidden Legacy, is a powerful and suspenseful tale exploring a mysterious and sinister past.


To read my review of The Hidden Legacy click here:
bibliomaniac's review of The Hidden Legacy 

To read my interview with Graham click on the link below: 
Bibliomaniac In Conversation with G Minett


Cut To The Bone
CUT TO THE BONE by Alex Caan 

For fans of THE FALL a slick, dark contemporary thriller, in the tradition of SARAH HILARY and ROBERT GALBRAITH that grips from the very first page...

One Missing Girl. Two Million Suspects.

Ruby is a vlogger, a rising star of YouTube and a heroine to millions of teenage girls.

And she's missing . . .

But she's an adult - nothing to worry about, surely?

Until the video's uploaded . . .

Ruby, in the dirt, pleading for her life.

Enter Detective Inspector Kate Riley; the Met's rising star and the head of a new team of investigators with the best resources money can buy. Among them, Detective Sergeant Zain Harris, the poster boy for multiracial policing. But can Kate wholly trust him - and more importantly, can she trust herself around him?

As hysteria builds amongst the press and Ruby's millions of fans, Kate and her team are under pressure to get results, and fast, but as they soon discover, the world of YouTube vloggers and social media is much darker than anyone could have imagined.

And the videos keep coming . .
 


For my review of Cut to the Bone please click here:
Bibliomaniac's Review of Cut to the Bone

For my Blog Tour Q&A with Alex Caan please click here: 
Bibliomaniac's Q&A with Alex Caan

Without Trace
WITHOUT TRACE by Simon Booker 


A gripping psychological thriller for fans of Gone Girl and Making a Murderer.

"A cracking debut. A real page-turner with a compelling central character"
- Mark Billingham 


For four long years, journalist Morgan Vine has campaigned for the release of her childhood sweetheart Danny Kilcannon - convicted, on dubious evidence, of murdering his 14 year-old stepdaughter.

When a key witness recants, Danny is released from prison. With nowhere else to go, he relies on single mum Morgan and her teenage daughter, Lissa.

But then Lissa goes missing.

With her own child now at risk, Morgan must re-think all she knows about her old flame - 'the one that got away'. As the media storm around the mysterious disappearance intensifies and shocking revelations emerge, she is forced to confront the ultimate question: who can we trust...?


For my review of Without Trace please click here:
Bibliomaniac's review of Without Trace

For Bibliomaniac's Book Club March Paperlight read please click here:
bibliomaniacsbookclub March PaperLight

For more about Bibliomaniac's Book Club please click here:

Bibliomaniac's Book Club Reads 2017

Follow me on Twitter @katherinesunde3 (bibliomaniacuk) 

No comments:

Post a Comment