Saturday, 8 October 2016

**A Review of the Week 3/10/16**

There have been so many things happening this week I have decided to put it all in one post so as not to drive you too crazy with a frenzy of tweeting! Here's a round up of all I reviewed this week in case you missed anything!

Hope there's something here to catch your eye! Do let me know in the comments below if you are reading any of these books too!

Death at the Seaside (Kate Shackleton, #8)
"Death at the Seaside" Frances Brody published 6th October
4/5 stars from me
On Monday I was lucky enough to be on the Blog Tour for this fabulous "cosy crime" thriller set in the 1920s and published by Little, Brown Book Group on 6th October 2016. This is a totally charming read with a great sense of historical setting and a juicy enough mystery to fill your afternoon tea sandwiches with! Kate Shackleton is a lively and interesting protagonist who looks to take the sleuthing world by storm! Here's my full review:

http://bibliomaniacuk.blogspot.com/2016/10/blog-tour-death-at-seaside-frances-brody.html

Sins of the Father (Runaway Girl Series book 3)
"Sins of the Father" Emily Organ published 4th October.
4/5 stars from me
I've been a big fan of Emily Organ's books since the first instalment in this trilogy was published a few years ago so I was delighted to read the final instalment. Organ's adventure, set in 1351, is full of strong female characters, villainous baddies and plenty of twists and turns. Her attention to historical detail is impressive; her prose reading as fluently as any contemporary psychological thriller. For my full review click here:

http://bibliomaniacuk.blogspot.com/2016/10/sins-of-father-emily-organ.html

The Taken: A twisted, gripping crime thriller - not for the faint-hearted
On Wednesday, I was delighted to be able to share an extract from Casey Kelleher's "The Taken" which you can read here....if you dare!!! Her book is a gritty, twisted thriller not for the fainthearted!

http://bibliomaniacuk.blogspot.com/2016/10/exclusive-extractthe-taken-casey.html

The Secret Letters: A heartbreaking story of love and loss

"The Secret Letters" by Catherine Law was published on 6th October by Bonnier Zaffre
3/5 stars from me
This is an engaging story about love, loss and sacrifice set in the second world war. I was intrigued by the story and wanted to know how things would pan out for the characters. Law has written a pleasing and satisfying debut. For my full review click here:

http://bibliomaniacuk.blogspot.com/2016/10/the-secret-letters-catherine-law.html


Thin Air
This ghost story published on 6th October and I would highly recommend it! It is dark, chilling and vey gripping! Short and very easy to read in a few sittings. Paver is a talented writer. My review is here:

http://bibliomaniacuk.blogspot.com/2016/07/thin-air-michelle-paver.html


Holding
Graham Norton's first novel was published on the 6th October too. I really enjoyed "Holding" and gave 4/5 stars. It was gently humorous, entertaining, full of well conceived characters and a good, strong plot. Recommend!

http://bibliomaniacuk.blogspot.com/2016/10/holding-graham-norton.html

Murder in Midwinter
Fleur Hitchcock's children's fiction novel "Murder in Midwinter" was also published this week. It is a great mystery thriller set in deep Wales and an excellent introduction to crime and murder novels for a younger audience. I really enjoyed it and will be buying for lots of children I know this Christmas!

http://bibliomaniacuk.blogspot.com/2016/10/childrens-fiction-murder-in-midwinter.html


My Husband's Son

The fantastic thriller from Deborah O'Connor came out in paperback on Thursday and I would urge you to buy it if you've not yet read it! It's a great story and a fantastic debut. Highly recommend!


What We Didn't Say
This also came out in paperback this week and is perfect for fans of Nick Hornby and David Nichols. Another great debut from Bonnier Zaffre which looks at marriage from different view points.

Losing It
I ended the week by being on the blog tour with this chick lit novel which is a kind of Bridget Jones meet Emma! Enjoyable and recommend!

http://bibliomaniacuk.blogspot.com/2016/10/blog-tour-losing-it-emma-rathbone.html


I also read this book and was very moved by the illustrations and content. It is being sold for War Child charity and will make a great gift for all young people this Christmas.

http://bibliomaniacuk.blogspot.com/2016/10/refuge-retelling-of-nativity-from-nosy.html




No comments:

Post a Comment