"The Devil Wins" Reed Farrel Coleman

Robert B. Parker's the Devil Wins


In the wake of a huge storm, three bodies are discovered in the rubble of an abandoned factory building in an industrial part of Paradise known as The Swap. One body, a man’s, wrapped in a blue tarp, is only hours old. But found within feet of that body are the skeletal remains of two teenage girls who had gone missing during a Fourth of July celebration twenty-five years earlier. Not only does that crime predate Jesse Stone’s arrival in Paradise, but the dead girls were close friends of Jesse’s right hand, Officer Molly Crane. And things become even more complicated when one of the dead girls’ mothers returns to Paradise to bury her daughter and is promptly murdered. It’s up to Police Chief Jesse Stone to pull away the veil of the past to see how all the murders are connected.

This is number 14 in the New York Times bestselling Jesse Stone series. Coleman was selected by the estate of Robert B Parker to take over the writing of the Jesse Stone series of novels when Parker died in 2010. The Huffington Post states that "'The Devil Wins' is such a winner of a novel that Parker's loyal fans, and Coleman's new ones, will be equally delighted." This is quite a claim to make with such confidence, but this reviewer is not alone in their praise for Coleman's work.

I am intrigued by this book - and even more so by the fact that I have not heard more about this author! I love that the Sunday Times has said the Parker "packs more meaning into a whispered 'yeah' than most writers can pack into a page."

The Guardian states that Robert B Parker is one of the "greats" and Newsday says the "sentences flow with as much wit, grace and assurance as ever, and Stone is a complex and consistently interesting new protagonist." 

This definitely looks like a book to add to your TBR pile for lovers of crime and police procedural novels.

Author Bio:
Reed Farrel Coleman is the Edgar nominated author of 18 novels and 3 novellas, including the critically acclaimed Moe Prager series. He teaches at the Hofstra University and is a founding member of the MWA University.

Robert B Parker was the best selling author of over 60 books and lived in Boston until he died in 2010.

Contact info:
01582 766348


Popular Posts